Frequently asked questions
Do you have a question about the Virtual Run or the cancelled edition? Check our FAQ. In case your question is not listed here, please contact us via our Helpdesk e-mail address. We do our best to answer your question as soon as possible.
FAQ Virtual Run
Q: How do I register my finish time in the Virtual Run App?
A: We use Strava to register your finish time. You can find a complete instruction for the Virtual Run App here.
Q: I completed my run in Strava, but my finish time is not synchronized with the Virtual Run App. How can this be solved?
A: Send us an email via the Helpdesk e-mail address with your first and last name, bib number and the URL link of your Strava activity. Then we will ensure that your finish time is added to the results.
Q: How is it possible that my finish time in Strava differs from the finish time shown in the Virtual Run App?
A: Strava records two kinds of times for your activity: the moving time and the elapsed time. The moving time is the time that you have actually run. The elapsed time is the time that you have run including the time that you have paused your sports watch or tracking app. The Virtual Run App only takes over the elapsed time, as all stops count as part of your virutal race just like a regular race.
Q: I accidentally completed my run in Strava as two (or more) single activities and now I can’t find my finish time in the app. How is this possible?
A: Unfortunately, your Virtual Run can only be registered in the app when it is a interconnected activity. We can add your finish time manually to our results page. Send us your finish time via the Helpdesk e-mail address. Share the Strava URLs of your single activities in this e-mail. It is also possible to complete your Virtual Run again correctly.
Q: Where can I find my login details for the Virtual Run App?
A: To register your Virtual Run you need to log in to the app via the ‘My Virtual Run’ button in the menu. Here you log in with your bib number that you have been assigned from us and the date of birth that you specified during your registration. You can find these details in the registration confirmation that you have received from us by e-mail.
Q: Can I also participate in the Virtual Run without a Strava account?
A: No, unfortunately that is not possible. You can only register your finish time via your Strava account, after you have recorded your run with a sports watch. Creating an account on Strava is free.
Q: I don’t have a sports watch, how can I still record the time of my Virtual Run?
A: If you don’t have a sports watch, bring your phone with you while running and use the ‘recording’ feature of the Strava app. Click here for more information.
Q: Is there a time limit on the distance that I will cover?
A: No, we have no time limits for the Virtual Run. It is allowed to pause your activity in between, however the distance must be completed as an interconnected run (on one day).
Q: Do I have to run the exact distance I registered for or can I also run more kilometers?
A: Running more kilometers is allowed, the app only registers the finish time of your total distance. An example: you are registered for the half marathon, but run 25K, then the app will display your finish time on the 25K on the finish certificate.
Q: When will my result be visible on the results page of the website?
A: 72 hours after you have completed your Virtual Run, your result will be published on our results page.
Q: When will I receive my medal and/or Mizuno Race Shirt?
A: If you ordered a medal and/or Mizuno Race Shirt at the time of registration, you will receive it at home no later than October 31.
Q: What are the starting times of the Virtual TCS Amsterdam Marathon?
A: You can run the Virtual Run at any time between October 18 (00:00:00 UTC / GMT +2 hours) and October 25, 2020 (23:59:59 UTC / GMT +1 hour).
Q: Until when can I register for the Virtual Run?
A: The registration for the Virtual Run is closed, registration is no longer possible after this date.
A: No, this is no longer possible.
FAQ cancelled edition
Q: Why has the TCS Amsterdam Marathon 2020 been cancelled?
A: Despite the significantly modified programme, the Municipality of Amsterdam and organizer Le Champion have decided to cancel the running event, given the rising numbers of coronavirus infections in the capital. The international nature of the marathon has also been a deciding factor behind the decision. Participants come from all over the world: in normal times, 140 different nationalities would show up at the start in the Olympic Stadium. The development of the coronavirus in recent weeks has made it no longer justified to grant a permit from the municipality for the TCS Amsterdam Marathon 2020.
Q: What will happen with my registration and the extra products I have ordered for the 2020 edition?
A: You are not entitled to a refund. Your entire package will be transferred to the 2021 edition. You do not need to do anything. We will send you information by 1 December explaining how to transfer your bib number to the 2021 edition.
Q: I have registered with a company or charity team. What will happen with my registration and the extra products I have ordered?
A: Up until 7 September 2020 (inclusive), the following will apply: you can cancel your registration and you are entitled to a 50% refund of the entire package. You can cancel your registration by creating a ticket.
From 8 September 2020 onwards, the following will apply: you are no longer entitled to a refund. Your entire package will be transferred to the 2021 edition, provided you have not received a refund. We will send you information by 1 December explaining how to transfer your team(s) to the 2021 edition.
Q: How can I transfer my registration package to the 2021 edition?
A: You do not need to do anything for the time being. All participants will receive a personal message about this by 1 December.
Q: When will registration for 2021 edition open?
A: Registration for the TCS Amsterdam Marathon 2021 will open on Monday 7 December 2020.
Q: I cannot participate in the 2021 edition. What will happen with my registration and the extra products I have ordered?
A: You are not entitled to a refund. Your entire package will be transferred to the 2021 edition. All registered participants will be granted a place in 2021. Once the bib number can be transferred, it can also be converted to somebody else at no extra cost. You have until 1 March (inclusive) to do this through our supply and demand platform on our website. If this is not possible in the short term, first transfer the bib number on your own name and after 1 March sell your bib number through one of our social media channels or platform.
Q: Can I change my registration once it is transferred to 2021?
A: Yes. Before 1 December, we will update all registered participants on how bib numbers can be transferred. We will also explain how to convert a bib number to a different distance and how to order extra products.
Q: How can I transfer my registration to a new participant?
A: Once your bib number has been transferred, you can convert it to a new participant. We will update you on how to do this before 1 December.
Q: I was allocated a start pen. What happens to that?
A: Next year, you will start in the same start pen that you signed up for this year. If the finish time you entered changes over the coming year, you can amend it when transferring your bib number.
Q: What will happen to the voluntary donation I made when I registered?
A: We will transfer all donations to our charity, Cancer Center Amsterdam.